Sweet and Simple

Happy in Singapore

Happy in Singapore

So last p-day we went to this beautiful spot called Marina Barrage, and I don’t know what the story of how it came to exist is, but it is SO COOL! It’s basically a park above the ground, with a fantastic view of Marina Bay, and so we spent the day there with most of our zone saying our goodbyes and such. ๐Ÿ™‚ Then later we went to a pass off lesson with the elders, so we could meet their investigator M. She is so sweet! And you know, something I’ve definitely learned on my mission is that everybody is prepared somehow for this gospel, because this gospel is something everybody needs!

IMG_5679

Enjoying their outing.

Enjoying their outing.

View of Singapore

View of Singapore

On Tuesday, we had our final district meeting with our current district (this week it about doubled in size due to transfers! Yikes!), and then afterwards we booked it to a lunch with a member, and it was delicious! We ate a Penang buffet, which is Penang food in a buffet and it’s delicious! Afterwards, we were able to get priesthood blessings and it was super nice, we are so blessed to have the priesthood in our lives!
Then the plagues struck.
Sister Rama and Sister Lenhart both got sick, and I got a little bit but not near as bad, so we went home and they passed out for the next 36 hours.
Too many sick missionaries

Too many sick missionaries

On Wednesday because they were still sick, I had an adventure trying to order McDelivery, which ended with us NOT getting McDonald’s but luckily Popeye’s came to the rescue! I love how everywhere delivers here, it makes it super convenient…although maybe that’s not a good thing. ๐Ÿ™‚ But when you’re housebound it’s a lifesaver.

A regular sized pizza

A regular sized pizza

Gecko on the wall

Gecko on the wall

On Thursday we went and met Sister P and brought M along with us and it was delightful! She is such a sweetheart! We talked about the Anti-Nephi-Lehies, and how they buried their swords and were willing to die rather than break their covenant with God. It’s a lesson that’s still true today, although it’s just as hard to do sometimes. But I do know that we are blessed, and that far greater good comes out of obedience than we can ever imagine. This is why the Book of Mormon isn’t simply just a story, or history, but scripture: It was written by prophets who saw our day, and put together so that we can learn and be taught and receive revelation from God Himself that helps us learn and grow and be better! I love it so much!
On Friday we got to go volunteer at the Blue Cross home once again! It was great, they are so sweet! We taught them how to make a fancy-ish paper airplane that Sister Lenhart knows, and it went great! They were coloring, and their imagination is fantastic! And they took so much joy out of flying these little paper airplanes. ๐Ÿ™‚ The joy of simplicity is something that is amazing to behold.
On Saturday we met with a new investigator named K, and we got to go to NUS, and it just reminded me of all the university tours I went on before! So that was a lot of fun, and we were able to teach her the Restoration, which was fantastic.
On Sunday after church (which was a great experience as usual), we ย went to the C’s home, for another fantastic dinner and Family Home Evening with a lot of families in the ward. It was great food and great company and I just can’t get over how much I love this place. I love the people, the culture, the food, the sights. And sometimes I realize how short a time I have left here and I just am amazed. So I’m taking as many memories as I can, but I know it won’t be enough.
I know this church is true, I know that with all my heart. I know Joseph Smith was a prophet, and I’m grateful for the faith that I’ve been given. Faith is such a great gift, and it’s available for the asking. But we have to ask sincerely and sometimes constantly. I know that Jesus Christ and my and your and everyone’s Savior, and that He died for us so that we can live again with Him and Heavenly Father eternally.
Thank you all for your support and encouragement! I love you!
Love,
Sister Schriever
Farthest Flung
Posted on November 10, 2014, in Letters. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

