The Durian Strikes Again!

Flower that retracts when it is touched

Flower that retracts when it is touched

Dear Everyone,

Last p day we went to Chinatown and ate durian with Lauren. Second time I’ve had actual durian, though I’ve had plenty of other durian things. It was super fun, first time she’d had it, and she’s leaving this week so we figured we’d better fix that! It’s still awful, but it definitely didn’t seem as bad as last time. 🙂 We also ate really good Chinese food with the Toa Payoh sisters and a member 🙂 
Durian: aka a rite of passage for anyone living in Singapore.

Durian: aka a rite of passage for anyone living in Singapore.

After eating Durian, hopefully never again for her.

After eating Durian, hopefully never again for her.

I'm thinking this is before they ate the Durian because they look really happy.

I’m thinking this is before they ate the Durian because they look really happy.

On Tuesday we had district meeting and it has been decided that we are Master Missionaries, and our motto is, “We don’t have excuses because we do not want one”. I am so excited for this! We also did practice with contacting, and it was pretty great, I got some great tips written down! We also met with N and  at Marina Bay, and had a sweet lesson on the Gospel of Jesus Christ. L bore powerful testimony to N about repentance and faith, and it was beautiful. I love both of these girls so much!
 
On Wednesday we went with Sister W, our Relief Society President, to go heart attack a less active who is getting married soon. It was super fun! 
Yummy Food

Yummy Food

On Thursday we had something REALLY COOL happen! Elder Funk and Elder Allen and Sister Funk and Sister Allen all came to SINGAPORE to speak with the missionaries!! It was absolutely amazing!!! I have at least 8 pages of notes or so, Elder Allen talked a lot about being obedient missionaries and being diligent in planning and the Spirit was so strong and I got so many personal insights into what I can do better and what we can do to help our area! I am so grateful to have a living prophet, President Thomas S. Monson and Apostles today!
Happy missionaries.

Happy missionaries.

Afterwards, we were supposed to meet with a potential named T, but he stopped answering his phone sadly. So we waited to see if he would show up, but sadly he didn’t. So we took our member, O, street contacting, which was fun. I met a girl from Tanzania who is a music teacher here. I love this ward because you get to meet people from EVERYWHERE!
 
On Friday we met with J and had a really powerful lesson on the Restoration, on Prophets, the Priesthood, and Christ’s life. We were able to ask a lot of questions of the soul, and I feel more strongly than ever that she will receive her answer! That she will gain insight from the Holy Ghost! And I am so excited for that day!
 
On Sunday we had church, then we were able to go to L’s house! It was our first time there, but it was really good. We were able to meet one of her housemates, and hopefully we’ll be able to meet more in the future. 🙂 She’s doing well, and is progressing steadily. I love her so much! 
We also were able to go to the O’s for dinner! It was so cool! Sister O is not a member but the husband is, so we were able to talk a bit and share “Because of Him” with them, which is a beautiful video about what Christ did for us. (I highly recommend it if you haven’t seen it.) We also had some new interesting fruits that I don’t have pics of but taste like grapefruit, as well as pomelo and durian mooncake! 
 
I love this gospel, I love this work, I love this area, I love these people. My life is forever altered because of them and my world is forever better. Thank you so much for your support and letters, and know that everytime you do missionary work you will get nothing but blessings. There is no fear, there is no shame. M&M’s are more delicious and powerful than just M’s! Let’s hasten the work, and help others come to the happiness that we have, extend the invitation in Alma 5:62 (also see 1 Nephi 8:10-12
Apple pie that she made

Apple pie that she made

). I KNOW this gospel is true! And I know you all can know too! I love you all!
Love,
Sister Schriever
Farthest Flung
Tall building

Tall building

Posted on September 10, 2014, in Letters. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

