Once Upon a Time There Was a Missionary Who Loved This Work–and That Will Never Change!

A cool flower

A cool flower

I think I said last week was the fastest of my life, (but don’t quote me on that, I say a lot of stuff in these, and I’m typing fast so don’t really have time to edit. Luckily my mom is amazing and is willing to edit my letters.) But seriously, this week has passed by in a blink. I actually was not sure I believed it yesterday when I realized that it was p day AGAIN. I was like, “What am I going to tell people?” 

In front of a cool Chinese wall

In front of a cool Chinese wall

On Monday we went over to the amazing P family and made skirts. This family is absolutely wonderful. They are hosting a woman named Ol from Myanmar is a returned missionary and is absolutely amazing! She is so sweet! 😀 And so us and the 3rd Ward sisters were all super happy and blessed, and afterwards they fed us and it was pretty sweet, and we went finding afterwards. 
 
On Wednesday we met with Mi with L (who is leaving a mission soonish! Wow!) and we had a pretty amazing lesson on faith. M has a lot of faith, and we are super grateful because prayers are being answered for her! She and her husband are in a lot of my prayers, that they will be able to come to church soon and that her husband will want to learn about the gospel again. 🙂 I know that miracles happen all the time, every day, and I love it! Later on, we heart attacked our recent convert L’s door, it was so fun because we had to be super sneaky about it! And we had a bit of an adventure not getting lost. Sister Opatha has a sense of direction but can’t read a map, and I can read a map (most of the time), but have no sense of direction. We make it work. The Spirit is the best GPS there is anyway! 😀
Heart attacking a friend's house.

Heart attacking a friend’s house.

On Thursday we met with D, who is a super cool member. We’re hoping her boyfriend will be interested in learning soon. So that’s cool. We also heart attacked the wonderful Ps in a really sneaky way. So most of our members live in places where we have to ring them to get in, so heart attacking is kind of hard. BUT we have discovered that by waiting until after dinner appointments we can pretend to leave and then put hearts all over their door! Where there is a will, there is a way! I love how Heavenly Father is willing to help us out with inspiration with everything, it’s pretty great. 🙂
Elder Cranford and Sister Schriever

Elder Cranford and Sister Schriever

On Friday we met with Sister A, who just came back from the states and is less active. She is super sweet and so nice! We are WAY excited to work with her and her adorable son! She is just really really cool and just needs some faith and I KNOW there is a reason we were able to get in touch with her! 
 
On Saturday we were able to do service for the YWCA (Young Women’s Christian Association). We put together care packages and then delivered them to people who cannnot work due to disability, old age, or sickness. It was pretty amazing. I love how there is service everywhere we go. And how there are people everywhere who are willing to help. It’s a pretty wonderful world we live in where there are organizations specifically just to help people who can’t help themselves. We are each brothers and sisters and it’s purely amazing.
flowers

flowers

On Sunday we had church, and I gave a talk in Sacrament meeting on Service and Elder Mickelsen’s talk, “The Atonement, Repentance, and Dirty Linen”. (I highly recommend this, it is super excellent).The Atonement, Repentance, and Dirty Linen
 
My talk went well, and the power only flickered for a second. (For those of you who are not in Greenfield ward, once upon a time when I was supposed to give a talk in church and to sum it up I forgot, got to church, panicked, and then the power went out so I gave it the next week anyway.) The best part is I had mentioned this before so I just looked up and went, “See? Here we go again.” 
It was really cool because I got to do a lot of study on nonjudgement, and especially the story of the Good Samaritan. In this church we believe strongly that we are all brothers and sisters, and we state that every time we see each other. But I wonder how many of us can look at other friends, family, strangers and think, “There’s my brother so-and-so, or my sister needs help!” This gospel is for EVERYONE, and I hope that people can remember that. I love this gospel, so much, and how forgiving and loving it is. I know that we are all related to our loving Heavenly Father, and that we each must come to our own conversion. We cannot lean on whether others act according to their words or not. We cannot lean on whether others believe or not. We can only lean on our own testimonies, and build them up accordingly. It’s kind of like riding a bike: Before we’re baptized, we’re walking. When we’re investigating, we get to go on a bike with training wheels, and when we’re baptized we progress to just two wheels. It’s faster, it’s nicer, it’s more fun, but if we don’t keep progressing, sure we’ll go for a bit longer but eventually we’ll fall. And it works for less actives, also, because once you’ve learned to ride a bike once it will all come back again. I know that this gospel is perfect even if people are not! I know that each of us can come to a testimony for ourselves if we simply act! i love you all! And I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen. 
 
Posted on July 28, 2014, in Letters. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It is wonderful to hear the adventures of my eldest granddaughter on a mission. I know that many are blessed with her smile and knowledge. I enjoyed the flower pictures: the first is lantana and the second is hibiscus, both of which grow in Virginia.

Leave a Reply

