Finding Buttons, Adorable Puppies, and… oh yeah! potential investigators!

Image

On Monday we did a game day-puzzle day at the church with basketball and frisbee and a ginormous puzzle! It was so much fun! Me and Sister Zhang also made Snickerdoodles and she was appalled at the amount of sugar Americans use, but I was delighting in it! They were SO GOOD and my mom is the BEST for sending me recipes!!!

Image

On Tuesday we had our largest district meeting in a long time because now our district has been replenished after transfers, so that was fun. We talked about a quote from Winnie the Pooh “Today is My Favorite Day”, and how we should strive to be perfect, and it was really inspiring. 

Image

On Wednesday we met with D who is moving to Australia soon, which was really really nice. She’s super nice and super solid!  We also did contacting at a local park which was really great because a TON of expats and families were there! We also found some adorable puppies (ok, ok, not all were puppies per se but still adorable) and turns out they are great conversation starters PLUS we get to pet them!

At the end to top it all off we had a fantastic dinner at The American Club (yes this is an actual thing here in Singapore) with the Es. They have SUCH a strong missionary spirit, it’s inspiring!!!! 

Image

On Thursday we helped out with a service project cutting things for English class kits for Malaysia, I am SO excited because this is going to be SUCH a great missionary tool! Later Sister Zhang went to help with a Chinese lesson while I got to play with an adorable 6-year-old Chinese girl with limited English, and I was so proud of myself that I could do basic communications! We painted each other’s nails, I almost got her to paint Elder Durrant’s nails (THAT took a lot of pantomiming to get her to understand), and she found a button and started babbling away very excitedly to me and I just look at Elder Durrant and go, “Help??” And he listens for a moment then looks at me solemnly and translates, “I found it”. Aiyoo…. 🙂 But I got to keep the button. 🙂 And the sparkly nails. It was so cute!!!

Image

Note:  this is after making our famous 2 minute fudge recipe, which she said was a big hit with everyone.

On Friday we did splits and I was SO proud of myself, because Sister Romney and I did train contacting on the way to an appointment and I met 3 people that are actually interested in talking to us!! WOOT!!!! 😀 We also had a fantastic appointment with M and we had a divinely inspired member present, Sister N and I have SO much hope for M coming back to church, or at least being able to come to more church activities! 

On Saturday we met with J at H’s home, ate homemade pizza (delicious), and it went REALLY well. We talked a lot about the scriptures and Word of Wisdom, and something I LOVE about her is that everything she reads in the Book of Mormon she thinks about, and I know this because she has questions! It’s awesome!

On Sunday J came AND L!!!! L WAS FINALLY ABLE TO COME!!!! HER NEW JOB FINALLY STARTED SO SHE HAS SUNDAYS OFF AND CAN COME!!!! She actually started crying when she came and it was so amazing. She was scared to come in at first, but our amazing Relief Society President Sister W comforted her and helped her and made sure she was surrounded by sisters to encourage her upstairs! And then afterwards we were able to go with her to the Es which was wonderful because L LOVES kids and they have two adorable little girls and we were able to share a message about John 3:15-17, and how Christ came down not because we would be perfect but because we are NOT perfect. And that we CAN lean on His mercy and His love!

John 3:15-17

15 That whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have eternal life.

16 ¶For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

17 For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.

I KNOW this is true. I know that my Redeemer lives and loves me too and that we can each come to a full knowledge of this for ourselves, by the promise and the directions given in Moroni 10:3-5, to ASK with a sincere heart, and then to put works to our faith and press forward feasting upon the scriptures and coming to church and continuing to pray!!!! I LOVE this gospel and this ward and these people! I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Moroni 10:3-5

3 Behold, I would exhort you that when ye shall read these things, if it be wisdom in God that ye should read them, that ye would remember how merciful the Lord hath been unto the children of men, from the creation of Adam even down until the time that ye shall receive these things, and ponder it in your hearts.

4 And when ye shall receive these things, I would exhort you that ye would ask God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true; and if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost.

5 And by the power of the Holy Ghost ye may know the truth of all things.

Image

 

Posted on June 2, 2014, in Letters. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

