The Spirit of God Like a Fire is Burning

Dear Everyone, 

Alright so transfer news, (drum roll please….) I AM GOING TO SINGAPORE TO BE WITH SISTER ZHANG WHO IS ONE OF MY BEST FRIENDS EVER SINCE MY FIRST DAY HERE!!!!!! AHHHHH!!!!!! I will be in the 1st ward, which is the expat ward, which means that I will be working with a LOT of white people. Weird….. 😛 I AM SO EXCITED!!!!!!!! 

Also, I am sad to report that I was unable to pull April Fools Day shenanigans (yes, yes I know you’re all so disappointed in me….) Due to forgetting what date it was, and being busy with spiritual messages at zone conference. Next year can though! 

Image

So this week was Zone Conference, so on Monday we flew to Singapore, and emailed there and went to the beach and had p day there with Singapore missionaries!!!! We played volleyball, walked in water, and I got to see SISTER OPATHA who I haven’t seen in forever because she’s BACK from the Philippines!!!! YES!!!!!!!! 😀 

Image

Then that night we went back to the chapel and played games for Zone Activity like Ninja, sword fighting, and Mafia and it was SO MUCH FUN and SO HILARIOUS!!!! 😀

Image

On Tuesday we had the Zone Conference, and it was so spiritually uplifting, all about becoming Preach My Gospel missionaries and gaining new investigators. I loved it so much, because I just felt the Spirit so much. It was wonderful to hear President, the AP’s, the STL’s, and Sister Mains all testify about obedience and family history. 

Image

We learned how to use family history even more in our missionary work. How everyone usually is interested in their ancestors, just aren’t sure how to find out more about them. So we talked about familysearch.org, and how easy it is to use, and that was really, really nice. 

Image

On Wednesday we flew back, and I HAD HAM!!!! BECAUSE SINGAPORE IS NOT HALAL!!!! And I discovered that ham tastes like bacon to me now. 😛 I also found myself constantly talking in Malayglish in Singapore, which doesn’t really work…. :/

On Thursday I made fajitas because I’m awesome like that and they were delicious. YUM!!!!! 😀 

Image

On Friday I found one of my new favorite quotes from The District: “If the Spirit’s there, it’s ok to make a mistake because there is still that good feeling”. It’s really comforting to know that I don’t have to be perfect. 

On Saturday we went to say goodbye to A, sadly, because she is going to India to get surgery on her back. I really hope she comes back soon but I also know that all things are for a reason. She’s really scared because she has a slipped disk pressing up against the nerve, which could lead to paralysis eventually. But we were able to read scriptures and comfort her. 

On Sunday we met with J who is still progressing slowly but steadily. He still has trouble understanding us, but we’ve found as we’ve been patient and strived to keep the Spirit with us that he understands enough. 

I love this Gospel. I love our priesthood leaders. I love being a missionary. And I know that when I get home (1 year left! So weird!!), that I will continue to do as Brigham Young said and remember that I am called as a missionary because I am a member of the true gospel, that I have a duty to love all, to invite all to come unto Christ wherever I am. I am so excited to see General Conference next week and hear a prophet today!. I delight to serve my Heavenly Father,  and I can’t believe that it’s already been 6 months since I left, it’s passed by so fast! I love you all and I say these things in the name of Jesus Christ, Amen!

 

Posted on April 7, 2014, in Letters. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

