The haze!

Image

Trying to avoid breathing in the haze.

So this week’s predominant announcement was the haze. It was SO BAD the sun turned red and we still couldn’t see the Petronas Towers even from Jelatek. It did clear up for two days though due to a nice wind blowing through though so that was pleasant, but other than that my voice may get a little deeper by the time I’m through here.

Image

Second announcement is that we found out some sad news. We found out that technically refugees are illegal in Malaysia which means they cannot be baptized. This also means that B, T, and A cannot be baptized. It breaks my heart, but I know trials are just opportunities for us to notice more of Heavenly Father’s hand in our lives. 

At the same time we heard the refugee announcement another one was made that they have raised the Standard of Excellence in our mission to 2 new investigators a week. The work is truly hastening, and I know that as we work our hardest, are obedient, and faithful that this will happen. Before the zone average was .7 per week, so it’s going to be really exciting to see the blessings that come out of this! 

On Monday we went to a place called ‘Escape Room’. Basically, it’s like one of those computer games where you try to get out of the room by clicking everywhere and solving the clues except in real life. You have 45 minutes to figure it all out, it was really fun. We lost the first time (sigh……). We were in 3 separate areas, and only me and Sister Rama got out of ours (YES!). Sadly though we couldn’t figure out the other missionaries’ clues in time. But that’s ok because we won the second time. We had to get through 3 rooms and it involved evading security lasers, opening a lock safe, etc. It was fun!

Image

What the losers held.

Image

What the winners held!

This week some developments have occurred: 

N CAME TO CHURCH!!!!! AHHHHH!!!! He is a Less Active YSA who has class every Sunday to become a Sound Engineer and we texted him asking him if he’d come and he texted back that morning say that he wouldn’t but then we got there AND HE WAS THERE!!!!! YESSSSSS!!!!! He had been driving to class and missed his junction and he said he just looked up at the sky and was like, “Are you trying to tell me something?” to God, so he came and it was AWESOME!!! 😀 Then on Wednesday we had a really good lesson with him where we read in 3 Nephi 11:3, because he’s a sound engineer, about God’s voice, and he prayed at the end to know what Heavenly Father was trying to tell him. I have REALLY high hopes for him!

3 Nephi 11

We also got a new branch mission leader and that is SUPER exciting because he’s getting ready to go on a mission and ready to work hard! We correlated with him on Saturday and it’s going to be AWESOME!! 😀 

Image

Took five maps to show all the areas in their district.

In other news, J and G. J are still progressing wonderfully, J is not going to be baptized March 30, but he will still be baptized. I really wish they understood better English, we’re trying to get somebody who speaks Hindi, Urdu or Punjabi (which are all pretty much the same), but our Punjabi member has pretty much had the plague for the past 6 weeks and our Pakistani member is only free on Monday nights which is difficult. But Heavenly Father might have provided a way so we’ll see what develops with that next week!

So, I kinda sorta forgot my planner this week so I don’t think i’m missing anything major, but if I am I’ll let you know next week in a catch up section. 

I love you all! You’re amazing! Oh, and THANK YOU to everyone who has sent me mail, I have replied to all of you I swear, but mail can be unreliable here. 

Image

Exotic fruit in Malaysia – aka Grapes.

I know that when times are darkest, we can see the light of Christ a lot easier. Something a good friend said to me a few weeks ago has popped up a few times, and I’ve found it to be so true: As you try to be more like Jesus Christ you lose more and more of yourself. I feel like I’ve lost a lot of myself, even though I know I have a ways to go. It’s comforting to me to know that it is possible to change, and that NOTHING is actually impossible. I know that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints is the only completely true church on the Earth today, the God and Jesus Christ IN PERSON came to Joseph Smith on that fateful day in 1820, and that we have a prophet on the Earth today named Thomas S. Monson. This gospel, this church would not be possible without divine inspiration and revelation from God, and although the people in the church are not perfect, the church itself IS perfect. I am a Mormon and proud of it lah! 

Again: I love you all bunches! 

Love,

Sister Schriever

Farthest Flung

Image

Image

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Letters. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

