What A Fantastical Week It’s Been

So this week has been PACKED! Hopefully I have the time to tell you all. 🙂

Image

She remembers her mom’s birthday!

For p day (Monday) we did one of my favorite things ever and got our feet makawed (I have no idea if I spelled that right, but it’s Malay for ‘eat’) by fish. 🙂 It was hilarious to see Sister Leavitt and Sister Romney do it for the first time!!!!!! We went to Central market, which is basically a giant mall and I was going to get Aladdin pants but I’m going to get them later because the cheaper ones were all sold out, or were down to the ones I wasn’t a fan of. But hey I have my whole mission. 🙂 Then we met with A who is a sweet, kind of recent convert. She’s so spiritual, so great!!!:D We learned a whole bunch of Punjabi (which is an Indian language) phrases, like: Ki haal hae, (name), which is ‘how are you?’, ‘main theek ha’ which means ‘i’m fine’, shukriya, which means ‘thanks’, and kikardi hai, which means ‘what are you doing’. Also ‘fir milegeneel’, which means ‘see you again’ or see you later. It was really fun!!

Image

Snazzy bag in the elevator.

I also bought a schnazzy new bag! It’s Diesel, probably a knock off because it was cheap. I’d never heard of that brand before but I LOVE my bag!!! It’s a one-strap backpack with lots of pockets. 

When we got home we had an adventure with a chichok (Malay for lizard) getting in the apartment. Luckily Sister Fa, our favorite Samoan sister, is a boss and was able to wrangle it. It was hilarious because Sister Romney and Sister Leavitt were terrified and hid in the bedroom while me and Sister Fa were having fun both catching it and trying to scare them.

Image

A wonderful delicious meal she was fed.

 On Tuesday we had a Christmas activity with the Wiechers, who are senior couple missionaries here in KL. WE HAD ENCHILADAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND PUMPKIN STUFFS!!!!!!!!!!!!! (It was kind of like pumpkin pie but sheet cake style without a crust). One of the elders who’s been out over 14 months said he’d never had enchiladas on his mission so we should treasure it and I definitely did. We did a white elephant gift exchange after which was fun. I got a bunch of mechanical pencils without lead from an elder who thought he was funnier than he was. And the coveted item was a cat figurine that all the elders kept fighting over. It was great. Then we met with a former investigator from 2009 named C and she seems like she’s going to be GREAT!!!!! We passed her to Chinese elders, though, because she sometimes has trouble expressing herself in English and it’s super important that they be able to not only talk, but that we also be able to understand them. 

Image

Sister Schriever from our point of view at Christmas (we were equally excited!)

 

CHRISTMAS CAME AND I GOT TO TALK TO MY FAMILY ON SKYPE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! DO YOU SENSE MY EXCITEMENT?!!!! It was so great to see my family again!!!!! 😀 I was so happy!!!!!!!! They are AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I got to see their presents, hear their talking, see them moving and actually chat with them!!!!! I WAS SO HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

Then we went on to have FIVE FULL MEALS. I was stuffed. We did singing and shared Alma 7:10-12 at most of our lessons, which was great, and we got to meet a lot of our members’ and investigators’ friends and families. We were going to have six meals but luckily Alice was kind enough to let us take home some food so that was great. I fear I may gone kaboom otherwise. Overall it was completely grand and there is SUCH good food here! I love Indian food. We ate at Manjula’s, Magdalena’s, Gerard’s, and Alice’s and those were all Indian food. We also ate at the Fox’s, who are expats so we ate vegetarian American food which was DELICIOUS. I seriously love food here. Especially Indian food. Punjabi food may be my favorite, but Tamil is super good too. 

 On Thursday we did planning then went to see J and N, who are sweet less actives. We were able to talk about family and Christmas with them which was super sweet. These two women are amazing and I will keep praying for the day when they can come to church!!!! Both of their work schedules are insane, though, so I don’t know when it will happen. As long as they stay faithful in their hearts, though, that’s all we can really ask until things change. I love bringing them spiritual messages.

On Friday we met with J, who is a sweet Indonesian woman. She has AN ADORABLE SON named Denish who is so cute. 🙂 We then went to do the pass-off lesson with C and the Chinese elders. Technically it was to evaluate whether it would be better for her to be taught in Chinese, but we were pretty sure it was going to happen. The lesson went super well, I’m really excited to see where she goes because she’s really open to learning about the gospel and she seems to really like what she hears. So that’s exciting! 

 On Saturday we met with U, partially to confirm if she could come to church still on Sunday. Since she’s only 10 it’s been hard to arrange for her to come to church because family plans keep popping up. But her mom agreed to let us come pick her up!! Afterwards we went to visit N who is super sweet. We discovered there is a book called “Mormonism for Dummies”, which actually helped her get converted when she was researching about the church. It’s a pretty accurate book, which is nice. 

Image

At Birthday party!

On Saturday night we went to Amy’s (Indians pronounce it Emmy)’s birthday party!!!!!! Sister Romney dressed up in her punjabi suit, and we both got dots on our foreheads and it’s really cool in Tamil tradition on birthdays the birthday girl feeds her guests a bite of cake each so that was fun, even though Sister Romney ended up with frosting on her face 🙂 We got to play games and eat delicious Tamil food which I think actually made my stomach grow bigger because I ate so much of it and we got cake! I loved it. 🙂 I think Amy had a very happy 12th birthday. 

 On Sunday GUESS WHAT!!!!!!!! U AND A CAME TO CHURCH!!!! A is U’s older sister who is 14 and she hadn’t been to church in 5 years. IT WAS GREAT!!!!! And G came too!!!!!! He is a one-legged Indian man who BROUGHT HIMSELF TO CHURCH!!!! Later that night we visited A and ate delicious Punjabi food and IT WAS SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 I have determined to become a master at making Indian food, especially Punjabi so I wrote down all of her recipes and she says we can come over some day and she will teach us how to make it! I am so excited! We are going to make Chapati on Tuesday so we can make fajitas because my mom is the best and sent me fajita seasoning for Christmas. We’re going to use chapati as tortillas. 

 I love you all!!!!! And I miss you all!!!!!!!!!! 😀

 Note from mom:

Alma 7:10-12

10 And behold, he shall be born of Mary, at Jerusalem which is the land of our forefathers, she being a virgin, a precious and chosen vessel, who shall be overshadowed and conceive by the power of the Holy Ghost, and bring forth a son, yea, even the Son of God.

11 And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people.

12 And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.

Posted on December 30, 2013, in Letters. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

